‘The Journey to No Fault Divorce – A Practical Guide’ by Liz Cowell


Paperback: 978-1-914608-55-1
Published: July 2022
Read a FREE chapter online now

Purchase from ourselves by adding to cart below, or purchase with optional Prime delivery from Amazon, here.

SKU: B0258 JOURNEYTONOFAULTDIVORCE Categories: , Tags: , , ,


Throughout history various dates have been noted as milestones, marking significant changes in family law. One such gamechanger was the Divorce Separation and Dissolution Act 2020 – No Fault Divorce – which became law in England and Wales on 6 April 2022. The long-awaited Act meant that couples could now divorce without one party laying blame with the other.

‘The Journey to No Fault Divorce: A Practical Guide’ explores this historical Act and delves into the history which would lead to No Fault Divorce, and features some of the campaigners who fought for change to make divorce easier and for their rights – previously women had been treated as mere chattels. The book is not only aimed at legal professionals, but also at anyone with an interest in marriage and divorce.


Author Liz Cowell is a veteran family law specialist and arbitrator with more than 30 years’ experience under her belt. Based in the North West ofEngland, Liz has acted as partner at some of the region’s most prestigious law firms and also works internationally with clients across the globe.

She sits regularly as Deputy District Judge, delivers training seminars to fellow family lawyers and most recently has launched a practice focusing on Arbitration, a form of Alternative Dispute Resolution recommended by the gridlocked family courts.

A regular contributor to the media both as writer and expert commentator, this is Liz’s second book for Law Brief Publishing.

Married with two adult sons, Liz loves Cornwall (where she tries to spend any holiday time) and modern art. More details and her blog may be found at www.lcfamilylaw.co.uk.


Chapter One – Introduction
Chapter Two – The Beginning of The Right to Divorce
Chapter Three – Criminal Conversation
Chapter Four – The Years 1937–1969: Pre-WWII to Modern Times
Chapter Five – The Need for Reform Post-1973
Chapter Six – Owens -v- Owens [2018] EWCA Civ (182) / UKSC41
Chapter Seven – Divorce, Dissolution and Separation Act 2020
Chapter Eight – The Future
Appendix One – Form D8
Appendix Two – Family Procedure Rules, Part 6